Follow the Triennale and discover other exclusive content

Opening time

Today we are open from 10.30 am to 8.30 pm

Opening time

Today we are open from 10.30 am to 8.30 pm

The Gold Medal for Italian Architecture
6th Edition

12 OCT - 11 NOV 2018

10.30 AM - 8.30 PM
Palazzo della Triennale
The Gold Medal for Italian Architecture stems from the collaboration between La Triennale di Milano and the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Activities.

The Gold Medal for Italian Architecture offers an active reflection on the role of architects and on their works, with the aim of introducing the public in Italy and abroad to a new heritage of buildings and ideas. It also provides a periodical overview of the state of architectural production in Italy, illustrating its problems, trends, and latest exponents. Awards and mentions were assigned to architectural works designed by Italian professionals (architects and engineers), and made in Italy or abroad between 2015 and 2017.

This year the Award has been expanded with a new prize for promising young talents in architecture and engineering: the Claudio De Albertis T Young Award, promoted by the Claudio De Albertis Award Committee, celebrates the care and commitment of Claudio De Albertis by offering concrete support to the finest young talents in Italy. 

The exhibition displays the projects of the winners of awards and mentions of the Gold Medal for Italian Architecture and the projects of the winner and finalists of the T Young Claudio De Albertis Award:

Gold Medal for Architecture
Kindergarten Niederolang
Olang, Bolzano, Italy, 2016

Special Patron’s Award
Soprintendenza Archeologica della Puglia e Segreteria Regionale MIBAC
for building the project by
Edoardo Tresoldi
Where Art Reconstructs Time
Manfredonia, Foggia, Italy, 2016

Special First Work Award
Mirko Franzoso Architetto
Caltron Community Centre
Cles, Trento, Italy, 2015

New Buildings Honourable Mention
Brunico School of Music
Brunico, Bolzano, Italy, 2015-2017

Landscapes and Urban Spaces Honourable Mention
Amanzio Farris
Belvedere for one Person
Rocca di Mezzo, L’Aquila, Italy, 2015

Infrastructure Honourable Mention
Stefano Santambrogio
Redevelopment of the Lakefront in Malgrate
Malgrate, Lecco, Italy, 2015

Interiors Honourable Mention
Gianmatteo Romegialli
Roccolo Swimming Pool
Como, Italy, 2015

Display Installations Honourable Mention
Canali Associati
Display of in New Stele Statue and Restoration of the Castello del Piagnaro in Pontremoli
Pontremoli, Massa-Carrara, Italy, 2015

Conversion and Restoration Honourable Mention
Giulio Barazzetta e SBG Architetti
Restoration of the Church of Nostra Signora della Misericordia
Project, direction of works, and artistic direction
Baranzate, Milano, Italy, 2006-2015


Claudio De Albertis T Young Award

Simone Gobbo
Bivacco F.lli Fanton
Marmarole, Belluno, Italy, 2015 – under construction

Matteo Arnone
Casa Biblioteca
Vinhedo, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 2013-2016

Andrea Brambilla
Open Room, 2017

Mario Coppola
Tree House
Benevento, Italy, 2017

Ambra Fabi
5 padiglioni per 5 parchi
Bruxelles, Belgium, 2017

Peter Pichler Architecture (+ Architekt Pavol Mikolajcak)
Oberholz mountain hut
Obereggen, Bolzano, Italy, 2015


The Gold Medal for Lifetime Achievement awards were assigned to
Guido Canali, Valeriano Pastor, Umberto Riva, and Paola Viganò.


Curated by
Lorenza Baroncelli

Display design
Politi Perugini and Laura Bragalini


Follow us and discover other exclusive content

partners partners partners partners

© 2016 La Triennale di Milano – All Rights Reserved